cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

had bank of america account for over 1 year with no social security number added to it

tag
dougie109
Established Member

had bank of america account for over 1 year with no social security number added to it

Hi,

I am an international student who is planning on staying in the states when i graduate from university and I want to build credit. I got a campus job and acquired my social security number through that. I have had a bank of america bank account for over a year and just recently opened a chase chequing and savings account.

My question is, does having that bank of america account for that year help with my credit? or is it a matter of time, like 6  months, until some sort of credit score will show up on the myfico page?

currently it says it couldn't find a score.

Thanks very much

Douglas

In My Wallet:
| Chase Sapphire Preferred (01/2014) | Penfed Platinum Cash preferred (01/2014 | NFCU cashRewards (01/2014 | Citi Diamond Preferred (01/2014 | Walmart Discover (01/2014 | Bank Of Americard (04/2012) | Capital One Quicksilver Visa (08/2010) | Capital One Quicksilver MasterCard (12/2010) | Amex Zync (04/2011) | Chase Freedom (11/2011) | Discover more (12/2011) |
Transunion 720 Experian 728 Equafax 704
Message 1 of 30
29 REPLIES 29
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

Re: had bank of america account for over 1 year with no social security number added to it

Checking accounts will not show up on your credit unless maybe you default and they send you for collections.  You will have to get an actual credit card to help build.  Best Buy Mastercard will give you a $100 line with no credit score from what I have seen.

Possibly a better option would be getting a secured card through Bank of America.

Message 2 of 30
dougie109
Established Member

Re: had bank of america account for over 1 year with no social security number added to it

thanks for the very fast reply.