Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

have one or more accounts to increase my credit score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

have one or more accounts to increase my credit score

HI All ,

I am new to the USA, I came in March, I opened an checking account with Fargo, after two months I applied for a credit card and I was approved with a line of credit of $ 500 but  every month I pay the whole card. I hooked up a new Job with an annual income of $50,000, my score by TransUnion was 677 and by Equifax 690.

In August I wanted to take a car by leasing or by financing, so I had to do a lot of queries in my credit score (6 worries), but each time the system forbids me with a credit score of 0 or credit history insufficient.
For a week, I called the credit card service, to increase my limit and I was approved for $1400. Also I received a pre-qualification of Capitalone for a platinum card of $ 500. Also I received a pre-qualification letter from Credit One for a $1500 as line limit credit card.
My question to the experts here :  the fact that I want to work on my credit score so you advice me to accept these two cards and therefore have 3 accounts in my credit, or keep a single card and work on a single card.
thanks for your advices

Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: have one or more accounts to increase my credit score

Three cards. Pay two to a zero balance each month while letting the third card report a balance of less than 9% of available credit.
Message 2 of 23
HeavenOhio
Senior Contributor

I think you can probably go ahead with Capital One and expect to be approved.

Stay away from Credit One. They're horrible, and you don't need them. You already have a card that's better.

Message 3 of 23
peghede
Valued Contributor

Congrats making it to USA m8

Message 4 of 23
Caleb87
New Contributor

You should have 3 cqrds for ideal mix but NOT credit one. Capital one is fine. Credit one is not. Do a forum search and read. They are horrible