Did you mean: 

need vs want, a Discover IT APPROVAL?!

tag
agent_bob
New Contributor

need vs want, a Discover IT APPROVAL?!

Hi,

All I can say is WOW.

I'll make it a short summary. I'm a 22 y/o nursing student about to graduate at the end of the year. I recently PC'ed my BofA power rewards card to the Better Balance Card. Late last year, before I found out about this website, I applied for the Chase Freedom (switched banks from BofA to Chase). I was denied, but I recon'ed it and was approved for a $400 limit. The only card that I have been thinking about was the Discover IT. I was thinking what would be my best choice? Should I get the regular IT version or should I apply for the student version? After talking with reps via chat windows & reading posts / boards on this lovely website, I decided to apply now. I applied for the regular Discover IT card over the student one because I felt like it would benefit me more long term & upon finding out my EQ FICO score through the free trial of scorewatch, I figured I don't have anything to lose. 

SO, today. I called in Discover and wanted to apply over the phone with a CSR for the regular IT card. He told me that the minimum income was $10,000 (something that I did not reach). I kindly told him that I needed more time to think about it and stopped the application over the phone. I then decided to apply for the IT online. Filled out information and stated that I was a full time student. Finished app. I got the dreaded 7-10 day notice. Then it said I needed to verify my identity as a student & submitted two school files.

I called Discover once again within a 10 min period to see if I could get my application reviewed. Had small talk with a lady and said I was APPROVED. I was shocked and surprised. Literally, speechless. I was approved for a $1,500 BALANCE. That is my second highest card. I will definitely be gardening for a LONG time.

I just wanted to say thanks to everyone who has made this forum / website possible.