Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new to the credit card world, need some hep understanding

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

new to the credit card world, need some hep understanding

hi all.  i have a wellsfargo account and had a secured card since last august.  paid it in full every month and got an unsecured card in march of this year.  pay it in full but didn't know the 30% credit/debt utilization rule and went over 30% twice.  i checked my fico/experian score recently on freecreditreport.com, which ironically is not free btw, and it is a 655.  i have no mortgage or car loan, just the one revolving card and have paid it in full every month by the due date.  i think the score is low because i'm new to the credit scene and because of the over 30% errors i accidentally made.

i applied for an amex card in april, only because my bank said my fico score they had was 700 and i figured that was good enough for amex.  i obviously didn't understand credit much because i was denied.  i have read a lot that 3 revolving accounts is good, but i don't want to get crappy credit cards.  so here are my questions:

1. how many points do you lose if amex/chase/whoever checks your credit when you apply for a card?

2. i like the amazon card and wouldn't mind making a purchase or two off amazon anyway while they have the 12/mo no interest as well.  should i apply for this card as a 2nd revolving account?

3. i invest via fidelity and they offer an amex card that gives you 2% back on all purchases.  i am guessing my credit isn't good enough yet for this card but i don't really know.  should i apply for this one?