Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

one or two credit cards?

tag
raggamuffin
Established Member

one or two credit cards?

Hi everyone,

I've been rebuilding for the last year and this forum is a great help.  It's my first time posting.

I was just approved for a credit card with Navy Federal and received the card last week.  Right now, it's my only credit card and it has a $8000 limit.  I have a good job and plan to manage the card well, but need some clarification.  Is it recommended that you have at least two credit cards?  Is it best to have one report a balance and the other to remain zeroed out?

Also, as far as reporting a balance, does the card issuer report the balance AFTER the due date? Or before?  When should I pay off my balance to get the best reporting utilization while avoiding the finance charges?

Lastly, if I choose to stick with one credit card for right now, is there a larger impact fico-wise if I have a balance on the card/carry a small balance?  Thanks.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Walt_K
Senior Contributor

Re: one or two credit cards?

At least two cards is a good idea.  Not just for FICO scoring, but in case there is a problem with one of your cards or it is not accepted somewhere.  I think three is an ideal number.  

You are correct.  You want a small balance on one card only, less than 9% of that card's limit.  You want the other card to report $0 balances.  Most cards report the balance that is on your statement.  Whatever your bill says, that is what will show up on your credit report.  They might not send the info along until a few days after the statement, but they will report the info that is on the statement.