cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Annual Salary and Wages" on CC application?

tag
-Nate-

"Annual Salary and Wages" on CC application?

I'm planning on applying for a CC soon and I'm unsure of what I should put in the "Annual Salary and Wages" field since I'm a student and self-employed.

Is it asking for my income last year, my estimated income for this calendar year, or my estimated income for the next 12 months?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Luscher
Valued Contributor

Re: "Annual Salary and Wages" on CC application?

Income last year. Basically because if they have any questions they will request your taxes from last year. Chances are as a student they won't ask for any tax forms because they know you are in school and do not make a lot.
CHASE FREEDOM | AMEX BCE | | BOFA REWARDS | CITI TYP | Quicksilver | DISCOVER IT | Sallie Mae | CHASE CSP
--------$32,000-------------$30,000-----------$30,000-----------$30,000-----$13,000---------$18,200----------$15,000---------$6,500----

FICO - TU: 780 EX: 784 EQ: 781
Message 2 of 9
john398
Senior Contributor

I usually put down my estimated income for the current year but I am not self employed or a student

Message 3 of 9
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

My DD is a grad student and also works as an intern -Cap 1 required her tax returns to prove her income.
Message 4 of 9
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

If W2: whatever your last two paystubs say you make, or tax return reported income.

Anything else: go by tax returns generally as that's what they'll ask for if you ever have to verify.

If you are making more than you did last year, can't justify it via paystubs, and can make a credible argument that you will continue to receive that amount, I'd probably put it down and if they called me on it, produce a lot more documentation though it'd admittedly be awkward.