Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"See ID" or Sign..

tag
afbar1114
Valued Contributor

"See ID" or Sign..

what is better to do sign, put "See ID", or leave blank...with all the pin pads at most stores being in front of the custmor whats the point any more...like some know i work in retail and i will be given the card once to twice a month...and when they buy to much stuff or to many gift cards we need a photo ID.

AMEX PRG; AMEX EveryDay $14,800; Freedom $6k; Sapphire $7k; IHG Select $5k; Discover $2,400; BofA Better Balance $9,100; Bank Americard $5,900; Citi DC $2,700; Citi Diamond $2,500; BestBuy $20,000; Amazon Prime $5k, United Club $15,000; Home Depot $20,000; Barclays $7,500

Total Credit Limits: $122,650
Message 1 of 48
47 REPLIES 47
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: "See ID" or Sign..

I don't think it matters because nobody looks/cares.  I used a card for a year without signing it, nobody ever said anything.  It was my primary card too, it got a lot of use.

Message 2 of 48
afbar1114
Valued Contributor

i never sign it incause i want to give it to DGF to use or something

AMEX PRG; AMEX EveryDay $14,800; Freedom $6k; Sapphire $7k; IHG Select $5k; Discover $2,400; BofA Better Balance $9,100; Bank Americard $5,900; Citi DC $2,700; Citi Diamond $2,500; BestBuy $20,000; Amazon Prime $5k, United Club $15,000; Home Depot $20,000; Barclays $7,500

Message 3 of 48
Repo-ed
Senior Contributor

In 3 years working p/t retail, I've never once asked for ID, even when it says "See ID" and they don't seem to remember nor care either.

5/2012: 560 credit scores across the board
12/2014: 750+
3/2017: 780+
11/2019: 833
2/2023: Experian via Chase United Explorer CC pull - 891
Message 4 of 48
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Per your agreement with your card issuer (the credit card company), you are generally required to sign the card to make it valid.