Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex, Challenged by Chase, Is Losing the Snob War

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Amex, Challenged by Chase, Is Losing the Snob War

I'm no expert but it all depends on what you need and/or want. AMEX has lost some of its "luster" to be sure, but to label people because they want or use a particular card is way off. AMEX is trying to catch up, they do need an infusion of fresh talent and thinking though. Plenti was an attempt but not a good one. The Everyday line offers some great rewards. But AMEX's higher end lacks in some way but shines in others. It is my understanding that the Platinum concierge service is still tops and often able to get seats or reservations that others cannot. Do millennials care about this, no most don't. That's why CSR was such a hit with millennials.  No AMEX, Citi, Barclays, Cap One, or any other major bank hit it right. AMEX, Citi, and possibly others will figure a way to draw even soon. One thing to consider, how long did AMEX Platinum Card rule, it took a long time to be surpassed, I'm excluding invite only cards here. AMEX upped their game with the new benefits, it's a start. The Platinum card has an image, they have to change it to appeal to a new generation. Will AMEX succeed, time will tell but I'm not ready to write their obit quite yet.

Message 21 of 26
805orbust
Valued Contributor

I don't understand the comparison.  The Platinum is a charge card.  The CSR is a revolver... no comparison imho.  I love AMEX and use my ED and Blue for Business cards religiously, However don't get the point of the Platinum as its not a revolver.  I'm a PIF guy but the lack of flexibility is BS in my opinion.

Sorry for the rant Smiley Very Happy

Message 22 of 26
Schwartzinator
Frequent Contributor