Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

States are taking a second look at how credit scores affect car insurance rates

tag
Taurus22
Valued Contributor

States are taking a second look at how credit scores affect car insurance rates

For those like myself who agree that Credit Scores have absolutely nothing to do with your ability to drive safely....

https://www.yahoo.com/news/move-underway-cut-credit-car-083008058.html

My Wallet
Sock Drawered

On Deck: No Plans Currently
Message 1 of 45
44 REPLIES 44
CreditCuriosity
Moderator Emeritus

Re: States are taking a second look at how credit scores affect car insurance rates

@Taurus22 wrote:

For those like myself who agree that Credit Scores have absolutely nothing to do with your ability to drive safely....

https://www.yahoo.com/news/move-underway-cut-credit-car-083008058.html

I work in insurance although not auto, but many friends do work in auto insurance as actuaries and the likes and credit does play role whether people like it or not.  They would have to disagree with this assessment Smiley Happy.  There is a correlation of risks although obviously not always the case it has been shown.  Many other factors obviously go into pricing risks (insured) other than credit, credit is just of one of many things considered.  

Edit: also to note this articles touches on alot of things that can't be spoken about on this forum as just read it after my initial response just by topic.  So please avoid discussing the obvious things in this article that shouldnt be discussed on this platform.

Message 2 of 45
sccredit
Valued Contributor

Re: States are taking a second look at how credit scores affect car insurance rates