cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

States are taking a second look at how credit scores affect car insurance rates

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: States are taking a second look at how credit scores affect car insurance rates

Obviously someone @Save-n-Invest was going to have to go there. Everything is not about race except to people like you.

Btw, I have pretty decent credit because I can afford to pay my bills on time...but I know when I was younger, broker and credit challenged I was a much better driver. Probably because my reflexes and senses were sharper. 

Message 21 of 45
CreditCuriosity
Moderator Emeritus

Re: States are taking a second look at how credit scores affect car insurance rates

Message 22 of 45
Save-n-Invest
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Obviously someone @Save-n-Invest was going to have to go there. Everything is not about race except to people like you.

Btw, I have pretty decent credit because I can afford to pay my bills on time...but I know when I was younger, broker and credit challenged I was a much better driver. Probably because my reflexes and senses were sharper.  

Apologies. I was not making a reference to race. I'm sorry that the post read that way.

I'll be more careful and take a step back from some topics.

Message 23 of 45
Jazzcat
Valued Member

I'm in the collision repair business. I'm not certain credit score is used as an indicator of safety so much as an indicator of illegality, like having your car stolen burned or vandalized for the claim money.

Another thing, be grateful if you do not live in a "no-fault" state. In most states I believe there is the insured party and the claimant party. It seems that in a no-fault state every claim goes on your own carrier

Message 24 of 45
Jazzcat
Valued Member

As an insured person your policy is governed by contract law. As a claimant with (damages caused by someone else) things are governed by state statutory law.