cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1 year credit history without SSN, now i'm getting one, what should I do?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

1 year credit history without SSN, now i'm getting one, what should I do?

Hello everyone and thank you for reading me.

I'm a french student here in the US and I have been trying to build my credit for over a year (ranging now from 710 to 730 depending of my monthly balance) and I have been approved for a visa, so I am now getting a SSN. 

I have 1 card at BOFA and 2 cards at AMEX, which are the only banks who granted me CCs with my passport.

1)Now that i have a fresh SSN i would like to ask what do you guys think i should do in order to transfer my credit history (based on my name/birthdate/address) to this new SSN? Is it a hard process and do you know how much time does it takes?

2)I am asking how much time because i'm very interested into applying for a capital one card (savor one ideally) but I also heard that they do hard pull and that this card is hard to get. If not the quicksilver is fine as well, any advices ? (maybe it is not the place to ask this one but...)

Thank you very much for your help!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 1 year credit history without SSN, now i'm getting one, what should I do?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello everyone and thank you for reading me.

I'm a french student here in the US and I have been trying to build my credit for over a year (ranging now from 710 to 730 depending of my monthly balance) and I have been approved for a visa, so I am now getting a SSN. 

I have 1 card at BOFA and 2 cards at AMEX, which are the only banks who granted me CCs with my passport.

1)Now that i have a fresh SSN i would like to ask what do you guys think i should do in order to transfer my credit history (based on my name/birthdate/address) to this new SSN? Is it a hard process and do you know how much time does it takes?