Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice needed! New to credit.

tag
Christhegardener
Established Member

Advice needed! New to credit.

This is my first post here on myFICO so hello everyone!

I started my credit building journey quite late (21yr) because I was an international student who didn't think credit was necessary in my case. However, plans have changed and I am in the process of adjustment of status to permanent resident status. I got myself a job, obtained my SSN, and got my first credit card with Discover in May 2016.

Due to the anxious nature of my older self (silly me), I have racked up a lot of inquiries (24 across the board) in the past 6 months in multiple app sprees with minimal successes (6 CCs totalling only $3150). I just got my first actual FICO scores, which are EQ 645, TU 671, and EX 666. My util % is 28%, but I can lower it to near 5-10% by 12/1. As my screenname suggests, I would like to start gardening and raise my scores, but I would like one last go at app spree to raise my total credit limit before digging myself a garden. I will also try to do a CLI from Discover and Cap1 next month before I proceed.

The advices I need are if I should do it and if so which CC would you recommend or think I have a good chance with.

Here are some cards that I am planning to try:
Cap1 Venture (MC or Visa?)
JetBlue (Regular or Plus)
Discover Miles
AMEX (Please suggest)

I don’t mind annual fees as long as they are worth it. (My total monthly expenses are around $2-3k debit or credit) So the options above is considered based on my odds of getting them approved.

I have no loans of any kind whatsoever, probably won’t be taking on any until I have gotten my green card.

Thank you all in advance for all your valuable inputs!

Edit:

Signature failed to show this but this is what I have right now. 

Discover $1250 | Cap1 QSMC $300 | AMZN Sync $400 | Chevron Sync $400 | TJX Sync $400 | Walmart Sync $400