Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CK says my TU and EQFX both tanked 100+ pts each, but give no reason why

tag
StevieK
Established Member

CK says my TU and EQFX both tanked 100+ pts each, but give no reason why

Just got my first credit card after having issues in 2013, a Capital One Platinum with a $3K credit limit.  I have been paying it off early and in full for 4 months now, and checking CK a couple of times per month.

Well, this month I had a huge surprise, my credit scores for Transunion and Equifax both dipped more than 100 points each, going from ~740 to ~625. 

When I click on "See what's changed," I get this for both reporting agencies:

We found no changes to your Transunion credit report.

We know it can be jarring when scores change but you don’t see why.
     A few score factors are more 'invisible' — like an account getting older
     or a scoring model adjusting its recipe.
     Expecting a change that you don’t see?
     Transunion may not have updated your report yet.

So what the heck happened?!?  Smiley Sad

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
thornback
Senior Contributor

Re: CK says my TU and EQFX both tanked 100+ pts each, but give no reason why

Hi Stevie,  welcome to the forums! 

Did your FICO scores drop? 

Credit Karma scores are of the Vantage 3 model and respond differently to changes to your overall credit than FICO; it is common to see a drastic difference (higher / lower) between your FICO and Vantage scores (Vantage scores also tend to rebound from unexplained drops fairly quickly).   FICO is what lenders use to evaluate your credit, not Vantage.  CK is good for monitoring changes to your reports, but the scores may be ignored as they do not factor into credit decisions.    You should be monitoring your FICO scores -- be concerned if you experience a 100 point FICO drop. 

Personal Aphorism:"Forget What You Feel, Remember What You Deserve"
Starting FICO 8s | 09/2017: EX 641 ✦ EQ 634 ✦ TU 647