Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collectively Bummed

tag
SoCalifornia
Frequent Contributor

Collectively Bummed

Fairly bummed out. I've been working hard for past three years cleaning up mine and the wife's credit. We have a targeted goal to finally purchase a home by applying for a mortgage. I was trying to get everything as squeaky clean as possible by 2022.

Alas, I have a two-year-old collection that has been reporting to TU, weighing down TU considerably. They found their way onto EX & EQ on November 1st. Thankfully there was no re-aging of the debt, but still, abit bummed out. I had considered trying to negotiate with the collector, but not until middle of next year. They jumped-the-gun on me.

At this point, I'm probably just going to grit-teeth and bear it- allow it to drop off. It's probably going to double our goal date, but I'm trying to put a positive spin on it, telling her and myself- we can just look at this as an opportunity to save more and be better prepared for the mortgage.

Anyway, just killing time while my daughter tries on clothes and sharing in passing.

Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
KLEXH25
Valued Contributor

Re: Collectively Bummed

I’m sorry the timing didn’t work out. Why not still negotiate middle of next year as you planned? As you mentioned, at least you’ll have time to save more.

Message 2 of 11
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Who is the collection agency and the OC?

Message 3 of 11
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor

@SoCalifornia wrote:
Fairly bummed out. I've been working hard for past three years cleaning up mine and the wife's credit. We have a targeted goal to finally purchase a home by applying for a mortgage. I was trying to get everything as squeaky clean as possible by 2022.