Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Correct Order of Paying Things Off

tag
CaroleBaskinBB
Established Member

Correct Order of Paying Things Off

I have a long-defaulted federal student loan in collections that I have been making regular payments on for a couple of years.  This loan/default isn't on any of my credit reports thankfully but it cannot be rehabilitated to help my credit.  It's been a goal of mine to pay this off and I'm in a position to pay this off in a lump sum settlement of around $15k.  

Very recently I looked at my credit reports and realized the collections isn't on there and my husband's cc, on which I'm an authorized user, is one of a small handful of accts on my reports.  The balance is around $11k and the limit is around $20k, so the utilization for both of us isn't good.  He makes a salary and I'm a real estate agent who makes large chunks of money here and there.  He would likely never be able to pay this off but I can in one lump sum right now.  Our finances are fairly separate.

We have a care credit acct and I soon want to seek a CLI for some big dental procedures.  I cannot decide whether to pay off the student loan now or pay off his cc.  I know paying off his cc will immediately help our scores, but I'm also afraid that my student loan could suddently appear on my reports.  I don't know the interest, but I haven't made great headway in paying it off with small monthly payments.  Any insight?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
OmarR
Established Contributor

Re: Correct Order of Paying Things Off

Since it is a federal loan (versus private), it's never going to go away. If it were me and I had the ability to pay it off in full, I would do it immediately. If they didn't update, it would be a win-win. You say that you have been making regular payments and they are STILL not reporting? Maybe they will still not report the pay-off. Hopefully that dept is on Corona furlough.