Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Crisis!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Crisis!!

I currently have a real credit dilemma! I have a credit card with a balance of about $30,000 and several other cards with little or no balances. This one card is keeping my utilization around 95%. Now here's the catch... The account is charged off and continues to grow interest. My three scores range from 500-593. I have read on this forum that the FICO simulator is not very accurate but it tells me if I pay off all credit card debt within 24 months my score should increase into the middle 700s. Problem #2-I am a student with a limited income and can't really afford to pay and extra $600 a month on this credit card. By the time I graduate and begin to make enough money it will be time for this card to drop off my credit report.
What do I do?
Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Boswd
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit Crisis!!

You need to call the credit card company that has charged you off and see if you can work something out, especially since it is on the fast lane to a CA.   it's going to continue to draw interest, over the limit penelties etc.   Call them and see what you guys can work out and hopefully you get them to stop charging iterest and get into an affordable payment plan.   As of right now the last thing you need to worry about is your score, you have a $30,000 credit card debt that is only going to get bigger.   That should be your main focus,  don't even worry about your credit score right now.   Call the credit card company.
Message 2 of 19
Anonymous
Not applicable