Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Karma score vs. 3 bureau scores

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Karma score vs. 3 bureau scores

Sooo I'm new to this but I'm curious, I know that there are different scoring models but my Credit Karma score shows a 577 but my bureau score between all 3 companies shows 650-667 why is it typical credit karma is that much lower??

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit Karma score vs. 3 bureau scores

CK scores are just weird. There are days my scores go up 50 points for nothing and then come down the next day.  Mine are way higher right than my FICO scores. So i guess it can go both ways.

Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit Karma uses Vantage 3 scoring and other lenders (most probably) use FICO scoring to decide to lend you money. Credit Karma also sells you credit products that seem to correlate with your score, but buyer beware: they are just statistically generated for folks like you with similar scores, and they make a profit on referred customers. They are not "customized" to you. The benefit to CK I find is to check changes to credit reports in real time almost; any inquiries on my report and CK is literally the first to let me know. Also to see where you are with the categories of credit scoring is a good tool. It also gives you TU and EQ reports which is unusual, as other free apps/services don't provide EQ Vantage for free, at least I haven't seen any. Only one iOS app, "Nav", gives you a free Experian Vantage score, AFAIK. EDIT: SO DOES CREDIT.COM (EX Vantage 3).