cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Limit Increases and score dropped?

tag
nlsnyder80

Credit Limit Increases and score dropped?

I had 3 credit cards increase my limits this last month. Two were soft pulls and one was an auto increase. Nothing else has changed. No new inquiries, no new tradelines. Total credit utilization is less then 5%. My score dropped 36 points on one and 28 on another from the limit increases. Experian shows the limit increases but no change in my score. What the heck? Will it go back up? I've been gardening since December of 2022. Feeling devastated right now.

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Ficoproblems247
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit Limit Increases and score dropped?

@nlsnyder80 wrote:

I had 3 credit cards increase my limits this last month. Two were soft pulls and one was an auto increase. Nothing else has changed. No new inquiries, no new tradelines. Total credit utilization is less then 5%. My score dropped 36 points on one and 28 on another from the limit increases. Experian shows the limit increases but no change in my score. What the heck? Will it go back up? I've been gardening since December of 2022. Feeling devastated right now.

This was not due to limit increases. You will need to compare your reports line by line, and side by side to see where the issue lies. Have you had any old account drop off of your report changing your AAoA or AoOA? Have you let all trade lines report in at $0 balances? There could be a lot of different cause for the decrease, however it is not due to CLIs. 

FICO 8 Sep '23 EX 755 EQ 765 TU 739
TCL $199,800
Message 2 of 17
Horseshoez
Senior Contributor

@nlsnyder80 wrote:

Are you referring to FICO or Vantage scores?

I categorically refuse to do AZEO!
Message 3 of 17
RSX
Valued Contributor

i am guessing it is not the CLIs at all

you state this - "I've been gardening since December of 2022."