Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit Union relationships

tag
The-Credit-Disciple
Frequent Contributor

Credit Union relationships

Good morning Fico Fam

It appears that if you build a solid relationship with your credit union they will show you Love as Far as Credit cards and other loans. I have seen on this site approvals for Huge SL especially with PENFED. Is it true to establish relationships with your credit union before you apply?  I am new to Penfed and I really want to get the Power Visa card. 

Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
Brian_Earl_Spilner
Credit Mentor

Re: Credit Union relationships

In the case of my main credit union, it doesn't appear to matter. They're only interested in establishing relationships with those with good credit. They wouldn't let me take out a secured loan or credit card when I was starting my rebuild. Despite raising my score almost 200 points since then, they still have no interest in establishing a relationship. I will be phasing them out soon. It's a shame seeing as how they are the largest credit Union in my city and county.

Message 2 of 20
The-Credit-Disciple
Frequent Contributor

I'm hoping PENFED will show me the Love. I built relationships with Cefcu and Golden 1 credit Unions and it's been great with them. My Cefcu Cc CLis 20k. My Golden 1 CC cl is 10k I will ask Golden 1 for an cli in June. I am hoping to apply for the Power rewards Visa from Penfed Late summer. I am already a Penfed member by late summer it will be 6 months

Message 3 of 20
AllZero
Mega Contributor

@The-Credit-Disciple wrote:

Good morning Fico Fam

It appears that if you build a solid relationship with your credit union they will show you Love as Far as Credit cards and other loans. I have seen on this site approvals for Huge SL especially with PENFED. Is it true to establish relationships with your credit union before you apply?  I am new to Penfed and I really want to get the Power Visa card.