cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit score lowered after removing a 14 year old account???

tag
JayTea7
Established Member

Credit score lowered after removing a 14 year old account???

Hello, I had a closed account on my Equifax that was 14 years old(synchrony bank). I disputed due to age. It was removed recently and my score lowered 53 points. Why? 

I'm still a little new at the credit game so I'm trying to learn. I have no negative marks or anything. This closed account was the last of the crap on my CR.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
GatoradeZeroGuy
Valued Contributor

Re: Credit score lowered after removing a 14 year old account???

@JayTea7 wrote:

Hello, I had a closed account on my Equifax that was 14 years old(synchrony bank). I disputed due to age. It was removed recently and my score lowered 53 points. Why? 

I'm still a little new at the credit game so I'm trying to learn. I have no negative marks or anything. This closed account was the last of the crap on my CR.

that account and its age were most likely helping your credit, not harming it

still, 53 points is a bit much though, where did you get your score and what are the other accounts on your credit report? 

any negative information?

Starting FICO 8:

Current FICO 8:

3/6, 5/12, 14/24

Message 2 of 13
JayTea7
Established Member

Someone told me that it would help my score if I had it removed. I wasn't sure. Now I know lol. I have nothing negative on my CR. I have one credit card 3 months old and a personal line of credit through my bank for 2 years. Both are paid off. My TU score is 701. My EXP score is 717. My Equifax score is now 681. I got my Equifax and TU score from Credit karma which I know can be off. Myfico score is still 771. 

Message 3 of 13
Bmom
Contributor

Did the 14 year old account have negatives on it? If it did not, you should have kept it. 

EQ 784, TU 700, EX 683
Mortgage 5, 4, 2: EQ 783, TU 683, EX 661