Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Credit scores. What a scam!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Credit scores. What a scam!

Ok. I have been doing this for almost 4 years. Watched the ups and downs. Seen what has effects. Recently I sold some property and used 20k to pay off debt. You know what happened? Hardly anything. I pay off $5,000 and 6,000 dollars and I generously am given 11 to 13 points. I have open accounts now with zero balance. No late payments no collections. Low usage. Nothing. BUT

i use my amazon card and my balance increases by $140 and they take 11 points? Seriously? The whole system is a scam. Lenders  have dozens and dozens of reasons to say no if they  want to. I expected to go from good to excellent with all the pay down because prior to that the whole reasons given for not having a higher score was the credit usage.  When there isn’t that, it’s like a lull  for adding points. Nothing until I use amazon then alerts start happening. Scam. The whole thing

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Credit scores. What a scam!

It may feel frustrating but it's simply math.
There are algorithms for scoring that come into play. Frustrating? Maybe, but, logical all the same.
Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

Scam. The whole thing

It's really not.  You're definitely speaking from frustration rather than a clear head.  I'd recommend doing some more reading on the forum as far as the ingredients that go into a Fico score and how changes to those ingredients can increase or decrease a score.  Everything is very profile-specific, so what could cause a 11 point drop on one file may cause a 0 point change on another, or something that causes a 10 point gain on one file may have no bearing on another.