Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dental student and credit strategy

tag
soxinabox

Dental student and credit strategy

Hi

I am currently a second year dental student. I'll be graduating in May 2021, and will either start working immediately, or do a 1 year post grad residency. I made a few bad calls with credit recently and saw my scores tank from around 720 to the mid 600s. Looking for advice and a strategy to bring my credit back up by the time I graduate. One short term goal I have is to take out a loan/lease a car when I graduate in 3 years since my current car is 15 years old and falling apart. Another goal is to purchase/own a dental practice by the end of 2024 and be a homeowner by the end of 2025. Currently living off of federal loans, but expected income upon graduation is 120-200k.

As of today 6/26/2018 my scores are:

Equifax 646 8 inquires

Transunion 670 8 inquiries

Experian 659 9 inquiries

0 missed payments or other deragotory marks on any report

I got a little trigger happy last week and decided to apply for 5 new cards, all of which were denied.

Requested and received a CLI from Discover, Citi, Banana Republic, and Synchrony last week. Pending 3x CLI from AmEx.

Current utilization as reported is 39%. Will be around 30% after new CLIs are factored into the report.

Most recent account is 2 months old.

Average age of accounts is 20 months due to having to open 3 new student loans per year.

Age of oldest account is 4 years.

Cards:

Chase Freedom Unlimited 04/2018 $9600

Chase Sapphire Preferred 04/2018 $17,300

AmEx BCE 04/2018 $2000 (pending CLI)

Banana Republic 07/2017 $5000

Discover IT 07/2017 $2500

CITI DoubleCash 07/2017 $7300

(Local) Credit Union 06/2016 $2500

CareCredit 04/2015 $8000

Overall credit: $54,200

Overall util ~30%

Will have a sizeable amount of student debt upon graduation. Nothing I can do about that. More than 300k, less than 500k.