Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Derogatory mark on credit report from utility company

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Derogatory mark on credit report from utility company

Hi,

I'm fairly new to credit management so I apologize if this is an elementary question or in the wrong place.

-I moved homes about a year ago and in doing so, had to switch utility companies (electric, gas, etc.). When I originally called my old electric company to turn off my service, I was told that the new rental tenants would have to switch the account information over once they move in (the day after I moved out).. okay fair enough.

-Fast forward six months after I have moved into my new apartment. I get a letter from a collections agency for the past few months of my electric bill that were not paid at my old address (which should have been billed to the new tenants months before). I naturally called the electric company and explained the situation. I was told that I am on the hook for the entirty of the bill up to date, as the new tenants did not call to set up an account. I find this ridiculous and refused to pay unless they prorate the bill to the day that I had moved out.

-Fast forward to today, there is now a 'derogtatory mark for public record / utility' on my credit report which is drastically affecting my score. 

My question - what can I do to take care of this situation? The last thing I want to do is pay several hundred dollars of somebody elses electric bill and then have the negative mark still on my report.

-Any proactive suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I just want to get this taken care of and move past it.

Thank you

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
blindambition
Senior Contributor

Re: Derogatory mark on credit report from utility company