Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Employed Vs. Self employed

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Employed Vs. Self employed

In general, do banks prefer person who earns a salary over a person that is self employed?

I guess that really depends on type of work (business for self employed), amount of salary vs. net income of business, etc.
Generally speaking, however, which one do banks prefer for unsecured personal loans?

Additionally, which banks offer unsecured install/line of credit nowadays?
It looks like citi and wells fargo do but bofa and chase do not.

I know it is a credit forum but I thought it is quite related to credit
and you guys are the experts on the matter :d

Thank you for your kind answers, as always!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Employed Vs. Self employed

IME, they prefer a salary. I'm a business owner x3. I'm a W-2er on one of those which makes things easy and file Sch C on the other two (LLC and SoleProp). For CCs and small loans, I don't even mention the biz ownership and find it easier to get approved with less paperwork. For the car loans and mortgage, it was a paperwork nightmare and they looked at me much more closely despite income being OK. I'm guessing the thought process is because a W-2 employee is stable whereas a business can be unstable with the high rates of biz failures out there. Also the tax code is written in a way where I can claim a herd of stuff like computer depreciation, cell phone, health insurance, car expenses, etc. whereas that can't generally be claimed as an employee. As a result, business owners tend to have a lower net income and that is an issue for some lenders.

A lot of banks out there still offer unsecured loans and LOCs. IMO, check with a local bank or CU and avoid the big banks.

Message 2 of 6
diabla
Regular Contributor