Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Equifax refuses to verify my SSN

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Equifax refuses to verify my SSN

Hi all,

I am an international student and currently on my student visa. Back to Aug 2018 when I tried to apply for a student credit card of BoA I got rejected. I asked for a credit report and found that EX combined my profile with a guy that has a bad credit history. I then applied for a secured credit card of BoA in Aug 2018 and added a SSN on it in Nov. Meanwhile I sent a dispute to EX and got my profile connected with my SSN and corrected.

Recently I want to apply for a student credit card of Discover I got rejected. This time is EQ. I thought it is the same reason therefore I sent a dispute to EQ to verify my identity (with a copy of my passport and my social). However, EQ refused to do so! They claimed that my social is not issued by SSA (because it has the notation of 'VALID FOR WORK ONLY'). I also found my birthdate is totally wrong and I guess it belongs to the guy with the bad credit history.

I called EQ's customer services multiple times and one time an agent told me I have to remove that notation. This is unacceptable because I can only remove it after I got my permanent residency, which means I have to wait for at least five or six years... Another agent told me to ask the banks to report my accounts to EQ.

What should I do? Will the bank report my account together with my SSN to EQ? If EQ keeps refusing to verify my SSN, can I sue them?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 2
1 REPLY 1
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Equifax refuses to verify my SSN

@Anonymous wrote:

What should I do? Will the bank report my account together with my SSN to EQ?

I'm sorry for your struggles. It's hard enough when things go as they should, but when someone else's bad credit begins to affect you, it makes it that much worse. But good job for staying with it.