Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Experian AAoA Confusion

tag
Queen_Etherea
Valued Contributor

Experian AAoA Confusion

I have a subscription with Experian/Credit Check Total and I'm a little confused... When I log in, it brings up the summary page which shows that my AAoA is 1 year 11 months. 

However, when I click on my actual Credit Report, it shows my AAoA as 2 years, 4 months. Why the different numbers? Is one showing the open accounts only, and the other calculating all accounts? 

I think I've found the sacred map that may lead me to this garden everyone keeps talking about.

Officially collection free as of 3/19/19!!
STARTING SCORES: 377 (11/2013) & 580 (3/2018)
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
simplynoir
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: Experian AAoA Confusion

I have this as well. Pretty sure (and someone confirm please) top one is your AAoA taking only into consideration your accounts where you are the primary account holder, the other also adds any cards where you are an authorized user as well which is why there is a discrepancy. I'm not too sure which one EX uses for pulls tbh. Hoping someone can answer that one for me, too.

Message 2 of 10
Remedios
Credit Mentor

First one is incorrect, second one is right 

As BBS calls is, first one is "user interface fluff" 

You can safely go by what's in "Credit Report" section. I've asked this same question while back. Second one is used for pulls 

Message 3 of 10
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

That’s interesting simplynoir, I don’t have any AU accounts so my information matches in both places... that at least confirms that open/closed can be ruled out, and both numbers match my own spreadsheet for AAOA tracking.

It would depend when talking FICO 8/9 if the AU’s are being counted, but Remedios is right for things like FICO 2 the second one is correct.

        
Message 4 of 10
Remedios
Credit Mentor