Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fraud Disputes

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Fraud Disputes

Hi guys, this is my first post. Happy to be here! I’ve seen some of the messages on the board bounce around back and forth based upon personal experiences - so I wanted to ask a general question and see if there is anything else I should be doing. 

I’m a lifelong Iowan, and from 2010 to 2015 I studied abroad to finish my PhD. During that time (more specifically, late 2010 to mid 2012) my information was used to open an auto lease, two credit cards, three mobile phone accounts, and all of this took place in a state on the east coast that I’ve never even visited. 

I’ve never really needed credit (I’m a university professor, things like housing, etc are taken care of my employer) until I decided this year to buy a new car. I thought the smart thing would be to pull my credit and boy was I surprised when I noticed these accounts!

I didn’t want to waste any time to I immediately hired a local attorney. He sent Cease and Desist letters to all of the creditors and not a single one responded. So, recently, we decided to take the issue to the credit bureaus. 

This week my attorney sent large packages of information to all three CRAs via priority mail. The information included: 

1) A demand for the information to be blocked or removed based upon provisions of the FCRA and the FDCP.

2) Copies of two police reports (one from Iowa, and one from the agency on the east coast where a lot of this fraud occurred). There are notes on both police reports in the “addendum” section that state the law enforcement agencies have “high confidence” that I am indeed a victim. (One of the reports also points out that I’ve never been licensed in that state, nor registered a vehicle there - thus negating my ability to have leased any vehicle.)

3) The FTC Fraud Affidavit - signed my me, a witness, a notary, and a police officer.