Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GENERAL INQUIRY QUESTION

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

GENERAL INQUIRY QUESTION

Hi I am new to the forum, I am a recent college graduate and looking to purchase a house in the near future. My main question is, I work at a dealership and I have been wanting to pull my credit so I can actually view my bureau to see everything as well as my TU score. I am curious if this inquiry will be considered a hard pull or a soft pull considering it is being pulled through a dealer credit score website at my dealership. I am curious as to what my score is and how my bureau looks before me and my fiance start the home-buying experience soon. I have a total of 3 credit cards, a paid off personal loan, an open auto loan and then my student loans which i have just started paying recently as I've just graduated. I've had the credit cards for 4 years or so now, the personal loan I paid on for 1 1/2 years and its been paid off for 2 years now and my open auto loan I have had for 14 months. Student loans I have had for roughly 4 years but have just started paying on them. My last inquiry was about 8 months ago and I believe in the last 2 years I have had maybe 3-5 inquiries total. Will it hurt my credit badly to pull it at my place of employment?

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: GENERAL INQUIRY QUESTION

In order to pull consumer credit reports, the dealership is required under FCRA 607(a) to provide the CRA with their stastement of their permissible purpose for credit inquiries.

That statement can be of general form if all inquiries are for the same stated permissible purpose.

They must also certify that the inquiry is only for that, and no other, purpose.

The statement of permissible purpose that is almost assuredly on record for your dealership is for a consumer-initiated business transaction or a consumer-initiated request for credit with respect to the purchase of a vehicle.