Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Got denied after false inquiries because of wrong SSN

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Got denied after false inquiries because of wrong SSN

Hi everyone, 

I've been in this war for months now. I'm a college student, and I really wanted to start building credit early. 
I got a part-time job, so I do have income. 
I applied for a Journey from Capital One, and got denied because they were "Unable to verify SSN". 
I thought, "huh, weird," and thought I got denied because of the lack of credit history. 
So I applied for a Discover Secured card. Got denied for the same reason.

I called Discover, and they told me that is because Equifax had a wrong SSN for me on file. 
I called Equifax (very tedious process, it was terrible), and they told me that it is the case. I mailed them and the other 2 CBs my SSN card and my state ID. They all fixed it. 
I actually got an offer in the mail from Discover. So I thought that now I can finally apply. 
Got denied because of "HIGH NUMBER OF RECENT INQUIRIES." 

Well, what the hell? Those inquiries weren't really valid, as it's because of a simple mistake (not mine too). 
The lady on the phone from Discover told me that I'll find everything out in the letter that I'll get in the mail. I know what it's gonna say, though, it's gonna be "Improve your credit, bla bla bla" 

After I went through numerous letters, phone calls, hours on hold, I get denied because of those false inquiries? 
What do I do now? 

Thank you so much in advance, I just don't know how to end this hell anymore. 

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Got denied after false inquiries because of wrong SSN