Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP with collection agency!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

HELP with collection agency!

Hello!
I am new to this, but have been doing alot of reading.  My husband and I are in a position to pay off some collection/charge offs and have been working real hard to fix our credit.  I have been doing a lot of reading and am worried that by  paying off these items, they will stay on my credit additional years because of the date of last activity.  Is this correct?
I have seen a "pay in full delete" letter somewhere here.  I have started my phone calls asking for this and of course the first phone call has me so discouraged i dont even want to make anymore.
I have a credit card that is charged off and is currently with a "law office".  I just spoke to a woman and asked for this item to be deleted from my credit file.  She said this is impossible.  I told her that it is possible.  I am offering to pay this account, in full, and all I ask for is the account to be deleted.  She then asks me "If you are so intelligent, then why dont you pay your bills". Of course i ended the phone call there. 
Can i please get any advise from someone who has done this before????
thanks so much!!!!!!!!!
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: HELP with collection agency!

I am in the same boat.  They can be very nasty and I don't understand why they would make it so hard since what they want is their money. 

I continue to dispute it...for any reason you can think of an perhaps that will wear them down.  Keeping trying and you will eventually see some progress.  But don't pay them if they don't give you want you want.
Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable