Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hospital Collections

tag
NeedingAChange
Established Member

Hospital Collections

I'm still kinda new to the posting so if I'm in the wrong catagory, I apologize in advance.

I'm trying to help my sister clean up her credit since I'm getting somewhat on track and we pulled her credit report and she has 3 collections for hospital bills that should have been taken care of by her insurance company(she had medicaid). One of them is in the image below.

Is there anything she can do?

TiffBill.PNG

NeedingAChange
Starting: 512 CreditKarma (TU) - 1/6/2015
Current 08/10/2016 - MyFico (EX) - 600, CreditKarma - 587(TU), 574(EQ), & 575(EX)
Goal: 700+
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Hospital Collections

The only thing that you might be able to do at this point is contact this "ARS Account Resolution" and see if they will settle out for, let's say, around $200.00. GET IT IN WRITING before handing over a debit card number. The letter or email MUST say that $200.00 (example) will settle the account in full and will be reported to the 3 credit bureaus as PIF within 30 days of received payment.

Repeat the process for the other 2.

P.S. Play a little hard ball on the settlement dollar amount numbers. I had to tell a place "Oh well, I guess you are not getting anything then" said " Have a good day" and hang up. Guess who got a phone call back 2 hours later accepting the amount I proposed?

One thing to note is that these places buy these debts at a few cents on a dollar, so even at $200.00, they are still making a profit.... which is all they care about. And I wasn't afraid to tell them I knew that either. LOL

Message 2 of 8
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor