Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hospital debt bought by new agency -- general advice needed

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hospital debt bought by new agency -- general advice needed

I have around 35k in credit with 30% UTI. Everything is in good standing, 100% on-time payments, don't pay minimums, etc.

I have a medical bill that I've been paying $25/mo on for two years (a $1600 bill, and in retrospect had I known it would come to this I would've just paid it, but the charges are erroneously inflated and I debated with them for months, and in the end decided I would pay them the absolute minimum I could for being dishonest and leaving me with no recourse--probably not the best decision--lesson learned). After a year of paying this to the hospital, they transferred my account to RMP Waco (some type of collection agency that didn't report and honored my monthly payments as long as I didn't miss one, and I haven't).

Today I received a letter from Radius stating that the debt was now there's. I called to get some general information and it appears they're right. The only options given to me are 3 installment payments or 1 flat payment. I didn't inquire about PTD or anything like that because I would do that through certified mail, correct?

I should also note that RMP Waco is supposedly about to collect their monthly installment on Monday (falls on the 15th, so if it posts it will be Monday). Radius' letter to me is post-dated June 8th. If RMP Waco retreives money out of my account after my debt was bought and is now owned by Radius, can I force RMP Waco to repay me that money, or would the new balance transfer over to Radius as they make the transition?