cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How I saved myself from bigger trouble with credit cards!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How I saved myself from bigger trouble with credit cards!

First, I admit I was stupid!

I'm 24 years old now, new to the forum and new to the U.S. (has been almost 7 years). My parents back in Hongkong has a decent income (approximately 2-3M USD annually), that's why they can afford me to study oversea when I was 17. When I first came to the States, I uses cash for everthing until I had my first bank account opened few days later with BoA and had my debit card. When I was in college, I do not have a SSN, so I don't have any credit card, and my parents were offering me about 40k for living expenses, so my life is quite easy when I was in college. However, after I graduated 2.5 years ago and got my first job at a construction company, my parents cut me off! And my father save a 500k USD fund in HSBC, but I'm not authorized to touch it until I turn into 30s. I was earning 55k at the first year of my job, the first couple of months were fairly OK due to I still paying cash and filing all my SSN stuff. At this time, I have ZERO debt.