cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I use price matching on my credit card?

tag
Azza
Regular Contributor

How can I use price matching on my credit card?

Hi everyone o/

I am looking into purchasing a new TV. The LG 65 CX tv. (the SKU is LGOLED65CXPUA). So on a most websites this TV is retailing for $2499. I have found it in a couple places for cheaper.

Here's the kicker: I found it on a suspect website called abctvs (link here: https://www.abctvs.com/prodinfo.phtml?id=OLED65CXPUA) for a mindblowing $1979 which is significantly cheaper than anywhere else.

My question is using my Citi Costco card which offers price matching, how would I go about doing this so I can order it from a reputable dealer, and would they honor it? Also would this hurt the company I bought it from reputably? This is my first time doing something like this, so any savings is great, but not at the cost/detriment of an upstanding business.

Thanks guys Smiley Happy

Currently Reporting:

Current Score:

Gardening Started with:

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
blindambition
Senior Contributor

Re: How can I use price matching on my credit card?

This would not involve Citi. You'd call retailer you want to use, tell them you found product cheaper. You can find Price Match policies on retailers sites.

They usually cover the major retailers, and not no name sites. Most who Match Amazon will only cover sold and shipped by Amazon. Not 3rd party, or fulfills by Amazon.

Credit card company would only be involved if they offer Price Protection after purchase. Most don't offer that benefit anymore.

Message 2 of 8
Azza
Regular Contributor

oh no, I didn't know Price Rewind was gone Smiley Sad

That sort of sucks! I kept that at the front of my mind for purchase confidence.
Currently Reporting:

Current Score:

Gardening Started with:

Message 3 of 8
Credit12Fico
Established Contributor

@Azza wrote:
oh no, I didn't know Price Rewind was gone Smiley Sad