cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am a 17 year old who wants to start off on the right foot.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am a 17 year old who wants to start off on the right foot.

Hi, all. 

My name is Emmanuel, and I am teenager who has been intersted in credit for as long as I could remember. 

When I turn 18, I intend to apply for a secured card, and I have been saving for one for about 8 years—I currently have $6,092 saved in my mother's savings account (the money is all mine, by the way). I first started reading about credit and other finance-related subjects at 11, and I am wondering whether the myFICO community can kindly provide me with some personal insights on how not to become a slave to your credit card. (Books can only teach you so much...LOL.)

If you require additional information, please let me know. 

Yours,

--

Emmanuel.

P.S. What does "OP" stand for? (I have seen it used in the forums.)

Victoria's Secret Authorized User ($2,050; 12-year-old account), My Children's Place Authorized User ($3,050; 12-year-old account), Sears Mastercard Authorized User ($7,800; 4.5-year-old account), Capital One Bank Authorized User ($1,600; 15-year-old account), Citibank Authorized User ($5,790; 25-year-old account), Chase Rewards Authorized User ($5,500; 15-year-old account), and Shells Gas Card Authorized User ($500; 31-year-old account).

Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I am a 17 year old who wants to start off on the right foot.

For me, I'd say not spending above your monthly income, and if you have balances on your statements pay them in full to avoid interest.  Do not be late on payment deadlines (much like your homeworks).  And keep your oldest account/s open.

Message 2 of 22
Zolomon
Regular Contributor

How to Not Become a Slave to your Credit Card, by Zolomon.

Step 1

Do not get a credit card if you don't have your own personal income.

Step 2

Obtain personal income - a job or career.