cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I own 5 income producing properties with no mortgages - collateral??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

I own 5 income producing properties with no mortgages - collateral??

I've been purchasing rental properties for cash for the past five years since I cannot get a mortgage due to 2 baddies (less than $300 each and both will fall off by 2020) on my credit reports.

So now I have 6 units in 5 properties that produce a decent monthly income for me.

How can I use these as collateral for a mortgage, or even a personal loan of any type. By "any type" I really mean a loan with an APR less than 20%.

Most places I ask about this have no clue about how that would work, or they just say "we don't do that". I thought that lenders like it better if there is hard collateral, especially collateral that produces a monthly income, to secure their loans? So what if there are two utilities saying that I owe them a pittance from 5 years ago (I don't really, but try telling that to the CA's and the CRA's)?

I actually had a need for a very short-term $10K loan a couple years back, I tried a few places that said "we don't do that". I found that I needed a "hard money lender" and then figured I'd try a *pawn shop* with deed in hand for one of the properties. They came back with an offer for me to sign the property over to them (and pay all attorney fees, filing fees, etc.) and then loan me $3,000 at 36%, pre-computed with large origination fees. Needless to say, I walked out and kept the title to the property that was worth at least 10 times the amount they were offering to lend.

Any suggestions?

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: I own 5 income producing properties with no mortgages - collateral??

@Anonymous wrote: