cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IS HAVING BOTH SECURED AND UNSECURED CREDIT CARDS OK?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

IS HAVING BOTH SECURED AND UNSECURED CREDIT CARDS OK?

I am new to credit cards. I applied at discover for a secured card cause I didn’t think that I am going to get approved from any banks knowing that I didn’t have a credit history at all. I got the card 3 weeks ago. But I also tried to apply at Chase bank for an unsecured card, I have a decent savings with them and luckily I got approved. And I got the card few days ago. Is having secured and unsecured credit cards at the same time ok? How is it going to affect my credit score? I know that it will show on my report if my credit is secured or unsecured. I don’t know if it will affect my credit score having a secured card. So is it better to close the secured card now? Cause I know it’s going to make a negative impact to my credit score in the future if I close it when I already build the score. Please help. Thank you so much!
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: IS HAVING BOTH SECURED AND UNSECURED CREDIT CARDS OK?

My comments in blue below.

@Anonymous wrote:
Is having secured and unsecured credit cards at the same time ok? How is it going to affect my credit score? I know that it will show on my report if my credit is secured or unsecured. I don’t know if it will affect my credit score having a secured card. So is it better to close the secured card now?

FICO models do not distinguish between secured and unsecured cards.  Your secured card is fine.

Cause I know it’s going to make a negative impact to my credit score in the future if I close it when I already build the score.