Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inquiry from Cash Central that I did not initiate

tag
happypill
Valued Contributor

Inquiry from Cash Central that I did not initiate

I'm hoping someone can help enlighten me.

I was looking at my credit reports and found an inquiry from CASH CENTRAL on my Experian report.  I have never done business with this company before so I contacted Experian, thinking it might be identity theft or something.  The person I spoke with looked up something and said it was a legitimate inquiry and that I should contact the company.

Before calling CASH CENTRAL, I did a little research and it appears that they are a payday lender, and perhaps offer some sort of private loans as well.  I called and spoke with a representative and they told me they got a request from a lead provider or something like that, and that it was a legitimate inquiry.  I told him, no, I never initiated such an inquiry, but stopped speaking with him when it was clear he was an idiot reading off some script and didn't really understand what I was talking about.  He said I should expect a letter in the mail.

I received the letter today and basically it regurgitates the same thing.  To quote "Under the terms of the Fair Credit Reporting Act, Cash Central can obtain credit report information regarding customers when (1) the credit report information was pulled in connection with a credit transaction involving the customer and a request for an extension of credit, and (2) Cash Central otherwise had a legitimate business need for the information."

I understand #1, but #2 sounds like complete BS.  Am I missing something here?  How can they initiate a credit inquiry on my based on a request from a Lead Provider (whatever that is)?  I'm trying to decide how I should proceed.  Should I continue complaining to Cash Central, complain to Experian, complain to CFPB or complain to the FBI or something.  I just don't see how this could be legitimate.

Thanks.