cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is my credit score reported to bureaus without a SSN?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is my credit score reported to bureaus without a SSN?

Hello,

I am new in the US and on this forum. Im a french student on exchange program.

I recently applied for an AMEX Cash magnet card with my passport (no SSN/ITIN) and got approved (surely because i own a french AMEX) with a 1000$ credit limit. It's amazing but i have several questions:

1) Is AMEX reporting my credit score reported to bureaus even though i don't own neither an SSN or ITIN? Am I building credit?

2) How much time should i wait before applying for another AMEX card (I'd like to get the Blue preffered one)

3) How much time and HOW should i ask for a credit limit increase? I would like to reach 5000$ asap.

I also own a secured CC from BOFA (cash rewards with 1000$ deposit) since 4 months and got declined for an unsecured one last week.

1) Anyone know how can I go unsecured with them? I am not sure on how they're looking at my applications since I don't have a FICO score (yet) on their app

Thank you very much for your time

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Is my credit score reported to bureaus without a SSN?

Welcome to the forum. I can answer some of your questions for now.

Lenders can't report credit scores, as a credit score is a result calculated from a credit report. What they report is account information and payment history. Even without SSN/ITIN, they will still report the account's history and credit bureaus will store information for you. In other words you can build credit history even if you don't have an SSN/ITIN for now. If you get one later you can contact the banks to provide this information (preferably SSN), and it will be reported to credit bureaus as well.