Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Managing Credit cards.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Managing Credit cards.

Hi,
I am a student and current do not have an SSN. However I do have a citi thankyou and an American express credit card. My goal is to drop the thankyou card and get a citi double rewards card as it offers a better cash back. Later on I would want to get a chase freedom card for the same reason. I am choosing these particular cards only for the benefits.I have never missed a balance so far. What is the best approach to achieve my goal without hitting my credit history later on. Please advice.

Thank you.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
coldnmn
Mega Contributor

Re: Managing Credit cards.

By NEVER missing a payment is your best chance of advancing your credit journey. 

YET is not an option! Good Luck!

Discover IT $17k / US Bank Ace (VSig) $13.5K / US Bank Cash+ (VSig) $13.5k
Sam's Mastercard $15k / Walmart Mastercard $10k / Blispay $7.5k PayPal Ex MC $10.8k
CareCredit 5k / Husq $5k / Cap1 QS $4.5k / Barclay Ring $5.35k / Citi DC (WMC) $12k
Gardening Date 7/01/16 / MyFico 08: EQ 801 / TU 777 / EX 771 / 06/08/17
Message 2 of 8
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

What is the best approach to achieve my goal without hitting my credit history later on.

It's all going to hit your credit history.  I'm guessing you mean with minimal negative impact?  It's difficult to say as it really depends on your credit.  To open a new account you're going to incur a hard pull and take a hit to your AAoA.  You could possibly avoid those with the DoubleCash if Citi will allow to to PC your ThankYou card into a DoubleCash card.

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

@takeshi74 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

What is the best approach to achieve my goal without hitting my credit history later on.