Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mystified by Credit...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Mystified by Credit...

I fully admit I am a credit newb .

Please help me understand grace periods, and how I can use them to my advantage. Apparently 5% util is markedly better than 0% util. Although I use my cards, I always look online, check my balance, and make sure it is 0 by the due date and avoid using a card before the account rolls over, therefore my (e)statement always cuts with a big fat 0 balance and 0 min payment.

The issue is now I want to start reporting at least a 1% util but I don't want to pay any interest. I can't seem to understand how to do that and I suspect I am missing or misunderstanding a vital part of the equation. I have looked online over and over, but I think I just need someone to explain it to me in baby words, because all the articles I've read seem to assume I understand this already. English is not my native language, maybe that is the problem.

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Mystified by Credit...

For most cards, intrest doesn't accrue until a certain point after the statement cuts, often 25 days. So, you actually want to make 2 monthly payments. Make the first payment before the statement cuts to bring the balance down to what ever UTI you want to report. Then PIF after the statement cuts but before the due date. This way you show a small UTI, and pay no interest.

Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes the part you were missing is making an online payment before the statement cuts (to make it report a certain number) and then paying in full after the cut to avoid interest.

You can use the cards as much as you want and use this strategy to keep your scores optimal at all times.

For best results, pay all cards to $0 before the cut except one card. For that card keep it between 1% and 9%.

Message 3 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable