cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Never never never... Ever!!!! Dispute over the phone or online.... Kicking myself

tag
Remedios
Credit Mentor

Re: Never never never... Ever!!!! Dispute over the phone or online.... Kicking myself

@Anonymous wrote:

@Remedios wrote:

You want the personal information change to be somewhat involved

If it was not, I could call and change your address, your DOB, apply for bunch of cards etc and ruin your life in minutes

While EQ is indeed something else, this part should not be made easy. It is not convenient, but neither is ID theft/fraud. 

Thank you for sharing, though. 

Believe me, I get it. My background is actually financial data and security. Never really used CCs all that much in the past with very few life changes in the recent past so I ignored my own files not thinking much of it until now. I agree there should be checks and balances, however its not like there wasnt a verbal security check and the fact that I provided documentation to support my claim. I didnt "add" any data to my file other than attempting to correct my DOB which was off by one day. If they just stated they couldnt do it onile and all documentation must be submitted directly via USPS then no problem, thats 5 minutes and Im on my way. What transpired was a cluster of showing that the prior interaction resulted in deletions and updates to my account however the system didnt save the changes made by the CSR. Confirmations were printed and loaded to my file and as according to "policy" will remain viewable for 30 days. I already downloaded for paper trail. It could be someone behind the scenes was attempting to save the world by reversing the results of the prior investigation but thats a bit much. My file isnt that attractive for a target. A one-off consideration is that I have been familiarizing myself with the "Freeze" feature recently and maybe that had something to do with it. A few frozens and thaws in the past few weeks