Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to Credit

Hi everyone,

First let me introduce myself...  I'm an 18 year old fulltime college student and I am brand new to anything credit-related. My family members, excluding my brother, have horrible credit, never pay their bills on-time, have lawsuits against them, etc etc. It's a major mess. I've learned from their mistakes and I don't want to go down that path at all. Recently I was approved for my first credit card by Capital One for $300. I'm making all of my payments on time and I absolutely do not spend money that I don't already have available. 

I am still so new to everything and I've heard so many rumors. Some people have told me never to get a credit card because it reflects bad on your credit score... but then others say it's the only way to establish credit... some people say that having more than 4 credit cards with reflect negatively on your credit... others I've heard of having five and six cards (maybe more) and from what I've heard have 750+ credit. 

I'm hearing a mix mash of stories and I'm not quite sure what to believe and I'm looking for some general advice/information from someone knowledgable, if any of you can provide that. Thanks again, I appreciate it!

Message 1 of 26
25 REPLIES 25
MrCrabs
Regular Contributor

Re: New to Credit