Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to credit

tag
Skippy101
Established Member

New to credit

So I'm new to credit. I have opened a BOA secured CC $500 limit,and discover secured CC $200 limit. I also have a CD taken out on my self to help report a history I have 2 things bad on my report, a medical bill that's charged off at $700 2 years ago and phone bill from 5 years ago $371. my score is 580 according to my credit reports EX/ EU I'm 29 years old. I would like to buy a car at a decent rate if I can even get approved by this time next year. I recently opened up both cards and CD 1 month ago do you have any tips for a newbie like me ? I pay both cards in full, and early and kept the amount spent on them below 28% before it was paid. and my CD is paid early in full as well 

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

Re: New to credit

Have 1 of your cards report say $20 each month then pay it off after statement date. Never have all accounts report $0. FICO doesnt like that. And a 3rd card will help. In rebuilding FICO likes 3 cards and a installment loan. Is the medical a collection? If so whos it with? May be one that PFD. The 2 baddies get them paid off so they quit updating. Slow steps but it can be done.

Message 2 of 8
Skippy101
Established Member

So my question now is do I get another secured CC or wait until I can get a unsecured card ? The medical bill says charged off collection  it's with advent health and I have an installment loan ( the cd ) 

Message 3 of 8
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor

@Skippy101 wrote: