Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pay off or Pay down??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Pay off or Pay down??

This is my first time here, Just wondering if it is better to pay off one cc ($3000) or pay 3 cards down to within the 30-35% mark (I just have the 3).  Which will help raise my score faster?  I'm @ 649 now (trans Union).

Thanks for any help

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Jazzzy
Valued Contributor

Re: Pay off or Pay down??

Hi shutterbug, and welcome.

FICO scoring looks at your overall utilization plus the utilization on individual cards. You definitely don't want any of your cards to look close to being maxed out.

FICO scoring also looks at how many balances you have on cards. So, you want balances to show on as few cards as possible.

If you want to post your balances & credit lines (& interest rates if that matters to you), you'll get some advice on which direction your $$ might go.

Message 2 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you so much, here goes:  cc#1 limit, 2600 bal 2327 int rate 9.99

cc #2 limit 2000 bal 1772 int rate 9.99

cc #3 limit 4750 bal 3173 int rate 17.9

thanks againSmiley Happy

Message 3 of 13
bicknar
Regular Contributor

From what you have posted here, my generic, knee jerk reaction is to pay off #3 first.  It has the highest balance and the highest int. rate.  If you pay that off, the money that would normally go towards that ballance can go towards the other two cards bringing down their % faster.

Just my first reaction.  Based on your goals though your course of action may very well differ.

Starting Score: 556
Current Score: 672
Goal Score: 700

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 4 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable