Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about credit bureaus.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Question about credit bureaus.

I am new to all of this still but I have a question.  I have read all about people "freezing" their reports, but I am not doing that.  I do have a question though.  I have had someone try to open accounts in my name and social so I have a "Fraud Alert" on all bureaus.  That is not the same thing, right?  Thanks in advance for any answers.  And thanks for all the great advice!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Question about credit bureaus.

@Anonymous wrote:

I am new to all of this still but I have a question.  I have read all about people "freezing" their reports, but I am not doing that.  I do have a question though.  I have had someone try to open accounts in my name and social so I have a "Fraud Alert" on all bureaus.  That is not the same thing, right?  Thanks in advance for any answers.  And thanks for all the great advice!

Fraud Alerts
Do not prevent third parties from viewing your credit file; however third parties are required to take certain steps to verify that you have authorized the activity on your account if they see a fraud alert on the credit file.
Still provide lenders with access to credit files and the ability to give credit to anyone they wish.

Security Freezes

Block your credit file from being disclosed to third parties (except as noted above). Should you wish to apply for a loan or service you must be proactive in requesting a lift in the security freeze so that the necessary third parties will be able to view the credit file if the file is frozen (except those exempted by law).
Remain on your credit file until you decide to remove or lift it.
Give you more control over who looks at your credit file.
May require a payment, based on the state in which you reside, to place and/or lift the freeze.