cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about effect of credit card closure/discontinuation? (Marvel)

tag
mrsbrightside
New Visitor

Question about effect of credit card closure/discontinuation? (Marvel)

Hi! I was wondering if anyone had insight of how the closure of a credit card reflects on your score? For example, the Marvel card I've had for a while was discontinued a year or 2 ago, but I'm still paying off the balance. If I pay it off I'm assuming they will close the account? And should that lower my score considerably? 

Otherwise, if I keep the balance on it, they can't just close it because I took too long to pay it off and also affect my credit badly in turn too, right? Sorry for the potentially dumb questions as I'm pretty new to credit. Thank you so much! 

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
SouthJamaica
Mega Contributor

Re: Question about effect of credit card closure/discontinuation? (Marvel)

@mrsbrightside wrote:

Hi! I was wondering if anyone had insight of how the closure of a credit card reflects on your score? For example, the Marvel card I've had for a while was discontinued a year or 2 ago, but I'm still paying off the balance. If I pay it off I'm assuming they will close the account? And should that lower my score considerably? 

Otherwise, if I keep the balance on it, they can't just close it because I took too long to pay it off and also affect my credit badly in turn too, right? Sorry for the potentially dumb questions as I'm pretty new to credit. Thank you so much! 

A closed account with a balance is a bad thing. It's damaging to your credit scores. Pay it off ASAP.

The limit is  no longer included in your utilization computation, but the balance is. 

In a worst case scenario, some lenders equate the current balance with the limit, so that you would be perpetually maxed out until it's paid off.

Total revolving limits 741200 (620700 reporting) FICO 8: EQ 701 TU 704 EX 685

Message 2 of 4
K-in-Boston