Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recent College Graduate Wanting to Raise FICO

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Recent College Graduate Wanting to Raise FICO

I recently signed up of BofA's privacy assist. It is showing that my credit scores are the following: Equifax=628, Experian=641, TransUnion=707. It also showed an error of a delinquent account of about $700. I have disputed this; Experian took it off and I am waiting to hear back for Equifax and TransUnion.In addition to the delinquent account, I have about $35K in student loans, and a Capital One Visa card with a $750 limit, which has never had a late payment.

Question/ Issue #1: I feel discouraged that my scores is so low and I am just getting started. I know I have a limited credit history, but does anyone have any ideas as to why my scores are so low? Is this common?

Question/ Issue #2: In an effort to develop my credit history and my lines of credit, I have applied for 4 credit cards: Macy's, Discover Student, Ann Taylor, and Amazon Rewards Visa. DENIED!!! Smiley Sad . I don't plan to apply for ANYthing for the next 2 years, but if I can't get credit, how am I supposed to raise my scores?

Does anyone have any suggestions of where I can go for here?

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Recent College Graduate Wanting to Raise FICO

@Anonymous wrote:

I recently signed up of BofA's privacy assist. It is showing that my credit scores are the following: Equifax=628, Experian=641, TransUnion=707. It also showed an error of a delinquent account of about $700. I have disputed this; Experian took it off and I am waiting to hear back for Equifax and TransUnion.In addition to the delinquent account, I have about $35K in student loans, and a Capital One Visa card with a $750 limit, which has never had a late payment.