Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Small debt to collection question

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Small debt to collection question

First off, I don't know what section this goes in. I am currently a college student and started my credit joruney in 2016.According to Discover, Cap one, and BOA, my FICO score is 732. I went to the doctor in January at school. Fast Forward to today, I have a debt collector asking for 64 dollars. This was due to a mis match between the copays. I contacted the Student Health Clinic here at school.  They verfiied that I do owe he 64 dollars. Apparently the bill was sent to my physical address back home and not our PO Box. For some reaon the collector was unable to send the letter to my address here at college. Everything is verified that I do owe the 64 dollars. As a finance major, I know how important credit is. Will this effect my score at all? What happends if I pay the 64 dollars to collections?  Any advice is appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
RobertEG
Legendary Contributor

Re: Small debt to collection question

The CRAs recently enacted a policy, as set forth in their National Consumer Assistance Plan, that even if reported, they will not include any collection on medical debt until the debt has become delinquent for at least 180 days.

The explicit intent of that new policy is for consumers to do exactly what you are doing..... have a period to handle medical debt issues that often arise with medical insurors before they affect your credit report/score.

I would get it paid ASAP.

Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Contact them, pay it and make sure you get some type of verification from them that it was paid and will not be reported. Don't let $64 escalate to more issues.
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable