Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So I have a double question I'm a newbie for credit

tag
Skippy101
Established Member

So I have a double question I'm a newbie for credit

Question #1 - I see all this talk about credit ult not going over 25-30%? So is that per card or say if you have two cards is that combined  % for both? 

Question #2 do I want to make sure both cards are paid full each month or so I want to keep a small balance on only.one of them? Pro’s and cons? 

Message 1 of 31
30 REPLIES 30
tcbofade
Super Contributor

Re: So I have a double question I'm a newbie for credit

Yes.

...and it depends what your goal is.

Utilization looks at each individual account AND at the total utilization.  As a general rule, you want to keep each account under 28% as well as your total utilization under 28%.  (Under 8% is better if that's possible.)

For Fico scoring purposes, you would want one account to report a zero balance while the other reports a small balance.  (Less than 8%).

If you're not applying for anything at the moment, I'd tell you that it isn't worth the hassle.

If you're applying for a mortgage next month, it's absolutely worth the hassle.

04/01/24 Fico 8: EX 763, EQ 799, TU 783.
Fico 9: EX 756 03/13/24, EQ 790 02/04/24, TU No idea.

Zero percent financing is where the devil lives...
Message 2 of 31
FireMedic1
Community Leader
Mega Contributor

You can use your cards all you want. The dont use more than 30% of your credit line on the net isnt true. More you swipe and use the card. Better chance for a CLI when the time comes to ask for one. The rest @tcbofade already addressed.

Message 3 of 31
OmarGB9
Community Leader
Super Contributor